Volume Boot Sectors


Volume Boot Sectors

Each partition (also sometimes called a “logical DOS volume” in the DOS/Windows world) has its own volume boot sector. This is distinct from the master boot sector (or record) that controls the entire disk, but is similar in concept. It is also sometimes called the volume boot record or partition boot sector. Each volume boot sector contains the following:

Boot-Manager Boot-US: Glossary: Part 11


LBA and CHS format, LBA mapping
LBA format:
LBA is the abbreviation for Logical Block Address. This simply means the sectors of a disk are sequentially numbered starting with LBA number 0. Every sector is identified by its unambigious LBA number. The LBA format is supported only by a mainboard BIOS which is not too old.